Interview with Milan Radulovic – 2016 International Airbrush Competition

Next up in our interview series is Milan Radulovic from Serbia, who won 2nd place in the Hobby / Model category in the 2016 competition. A photographer by trade, Milan has been building scale models for the past 6 years. You can check out his work on his website: http://www.artradulovic.com.

aboutmedsc_0536

Sparmax (S): Please provide a brief background about yourself; including, when you started airbrushing and what the learning process was like?

Milan (M): My name is Milan Radulovic. I was born in Cuprija, Serbia in 1972. I studied photography, and for the past 20 years that is my profession. My interest in aviation began in elementary school and continues to today. For the past eight years my primary interest is modelling and Aviation Art.

 

S: Can you tell us a bit more about your work? How / why did you choose it?

M: Building scale model kits is one of my hobbies for past six years. My interest is mainly for Jet Aviation, especially for the the Cold War era.

When I got, as a child, my first model airplane I knew what would be my hobby in the future. Unfortunately, it was a long time until the conditions are met for that but it is important that I have achieved my goal.

 

S: What inspires you to continue airbrushing?

M: Magnificent effects that I can achieve as well as constant improvements of my airbrushing skill that I can get with each new project looking at other fellow modelers works and experimenting with techniques are the main things that keep me going.

 

S: What are your goals / targets for airbrushing? What do you want to achieve?

M: My main goals while using airbrush during my work on scale models are to try to achieve both realistic and artistic look for my models in one. Airbrush is definitely the tool that gives me opportunity to achieve this goal.

 

S: What does airbrushing mean to you?

M: Airbrush is a special tool that gives me the opportunity to express my creative ideas.

 

S: Any advice to beginners looking to start airbrushing?

M: My advice to others using the airbrush: “Practice make’s it perfect” don’t be afraid, just try, experiment and don’t be afraid to pursue the ideas that you have yourself.

 

S: Do you have a website or blog?

M: Besides modelling, I have another hobby and that is Aviation art. So far I have finished over 60 drawings, mainly using, pencils, colored pencils and ink pen. Except drawings of Serbian AF, I have given a lot of attention to the Hellenic Air Force. Some of my drawings  you can see on my site www.artradulovic.com.

Leave a Reply

