Interview with Thomas Olczyk – The 1st Place Winner

F38-Lowin

Title: Lowin

Dimensions: 17 x 9cm

Base: Turkey feathers

Thomas Olczyk, Germany Foto

This was a stunning, gorgeous piece of artwork, done with delicate airbrushing skills and creatively combinating it with real turkey feathers. The judges recognized the originality and difficulty with this piece and awarded it the 1st place prize. In our interview with the creator, Thomas Olczyk from Germany, we learn about his background, inspiration and experience to share with you all.

Sparmax: Tell us about your artwork

Thomas: I have sprayed this image of a lioness on two glued turkey feathers. The size of the image is approximately 9 x 17 cm. With the help of stencils that I cropped as I needed, I built on the subject, step by step, without a previous sketch. It is very difficult and takes a lot of time (about 40 – 50 hours).

Sparmax: Tell us about your background. When was your first time airbrushing?

Thomas: My first contact with an airbrush was in the 90’s. At that time(and to thisday), I was very fascinated by airplanes; more specifically by aircraft models. To paint them particular, I bought a simple and inexpensive airbrush. As my interest in the airbrush techniques grew, I bought a new and better airbrush which I used for creating my first images on paper. To expand my knowledge around the airbrush subject, I have attended various courses and workshops. Over time, I’ve done less of the building of aircraft models and dedicate myself to the airbrush technique until today, both of which are still my hobbies.

Sparmax: What inspires you for your airbrushing works?

Thomas: The fun, the interest in this technology, and the challenge to paint a picture as detailed as possible are my biggest inspiration reasons. Also the works of other artists, eg photos from vacation, visits to exhibitions, and just from everyday interesting conversations as well. This award also contributes to the fact that I continue to be motivated again and again.

Sparmax: What’s your dream/target/goal for airbrushing? What do you try to achieve?

I want to try out much more, as new or different techniques, but also different or unusual substrates.

Sparmax: What does Airbrushing mean to you?

Thomas: Airbrush is primarily a hobby for me. Here I can relax and power off from everyday life. But sometimes it can also strain my nerves! Especially when I do not know how to composite the next step. In such cases, I put the image for a day or even more aside and try it later again later. The motto is: die hard!

Sparmax: Please give some advice to the beginners who just enter the airbrushing world.

Thomas: The airbrush technique is used in many areas; for example illustrations, Body Painting, Custom, nail art and more. Therefore, it is important to find the right tool for your own application and learn to master. Certainly it is not necessary, but you can save yourself a lot of time and nerves by doing an airbrush course. You can find out if you like this kind of painting. In time, everyone develops his own style and technique which will suit them best.

Disclaimer: The interview was conducted in German, however, contents have been translate and the translation has been approved by Mr. Thomas Olczyk.

Leave a Reply

